Cycling Ulster

Great Youth Event in West Donegal

Today Errigal CC promoted the first of this year's interclub Youth Series. Last year forward thinking Errigal CC promoted four youth events which were attended by riders many other clubs. This year Omagh Wheelers and Donegal Bay have been in discussion with Errigal CC in order to spread the load and provide different venues for the young riders. Together these clubs will host a total of six events.

Despite the bitter cold and high winds the small village of Dobhar was choc-a-bloc with young cyclists from all over Ulster.… Read more


John Moore Memorial Road Race 2015 Report

7This time last year Castlereagh CC had 7 members including 2 kids, who, through a huge amount of work on individual's parts and with help from friends, somehow yet again ran the John Moore Memorial Road Race - successfully.

This year Castlereagh have 33 members including 4 kids and a cool new kit. They have now upped their game and ran two separate races, including a separate Women's League  event.

The 4 lap Women's Race was a huge success with 17  women taking part and a great attacking race.… Read more


Information and Directions Errigal Youth Races

Errigal youth race U12, u14 and u16, on Sunday 1st March. Sign on from 9:30am at Ionad Naomh Padraig, Dore (near Crolly, where the Ulster youth chmps were in 2013). This is the first of a series of six youth races being hosted by Errigal, Donegal Bay and Omagh Wheelers cycling clubs over the coming months.

Full details of the other races to follow. First race away at 11 o'clock...

From Letterkenny, take N56 towards Dunfanaghy, but turn left in Termon, following signs for Glenveagh National Park.… Read more


Danny Boy Goes Live on Friday

Pre-Entry for the very popular Danny Boy Races which take place on Sunday the 15th March will  live on Friday night the 27th of February at 8.00pm. The races are promoted by Roe Valley CC.

Sign on will be from 9.00am until 10.30am at St Marys/Banagher GAA Club, Feeney, County L/Derry. The circuit is the same as last year . Races start from 11.00am & there will be awards ceremony and refreshments as well as changing and showering facilities at the GAA club after the event.

Read more

Masters’ League Update After Round 1.

bThe Cycling Ulster masters’ league got underway for 2015 at the George Rooney Phoenix GP last Sunday.  The hardy riders who turned up had to endure cold, wet and windy conditions for the 25 mile race.  However the conditions clearly proved little of a deterrent as 25 rides took to the start line.

There was a huge range in the experience level of those who rode the race; from Dermot Hughes starting his 57th year of racing to Dermot Rooney who was riding his first race. … Read more


Road Selection Criteria for Cycling Ulster Youth Academy Teams

Youth Academy Logo (120x44)The first major event in 2015 for U16 boys only, is the Youth tour of Scotland. There are 4 places on the team. To be eligible for selection you must be available to travel on Friday 3rd April returning on Monday 6th April. If not please notify the CUYA at the sign on.

The selection race for this event will be in Errigal on 1st March 2015. Any Ulster riders on the 2020 National Development Squad are not eligible for CUYA selection

The second event will be a Time Trial on Tuesday March 17th with the 1st rider off at 11am.

Read more

Carn Classic Road Race Open on 5th March

The Carn Wheeler’s Classic road race will take place this year on 22nd March at 1.oopm As per previous years, there will be an A race (for A1, A2 and A3 riders),  a B race (for A4 riders), plus a Masters and Women's race.

Each race will follow a number of laps as below and will be all left turns, until the last lap where each race will turn right for the final short drag into the finish in Maghera.

In the interests of safety each race will be limited to a field of 70 riders with a reserve list in operation when the race is full.

Read more

One Two for North Down at George Rooney Phoenix GP

aMark Cavendish reckons that cyclists lack a certain gene that tells them when they really should not be doing something and that was certainly the case this morning.

Over two hundred cyclists descended on the new Crumlin Leisure Centre today in pouring rain, temperatures barely above freezing and gale force winds. Why?? To sign-on for the George Rooney Phoenix GP road race -utter madess.

However line up they did and the 80 strong A4 race took to the roads around Nutts Corner to cover five laps of the 7.8 mile circuit.… Read more


Bye To the Bunch at Annaclone

aNewry Wheelers' new signing, Andrew Bye, lived up to his name as he said 'Goodbye' to the bunch in the A race at the Travers Engineering Annaclone RR today to take a clear win by over two minutes. The race was a handicap affair with the  A3's getting a three minute lead over the A1's and 2's.

Racing was aggressive in the bunch although a breakaway from the A1's and 2's stormed along the bumpy roads steadily eating in to the deficit.

However by the time they caught the A3's a small group had broken away which included Matthew Brennan of Ballymena CRC, Niall O' Hagan of Ballymoney and Andrew Bye of Newry.… Read more


Report on Ulster and National Selection Days

aThe Cycling Ulster Youth Academy day was planned to be held at Omagh and due to exceptionally bad weather with snow, a high chill factor it was decided to pospone the event.

Following talks with Sean McNicholl the organiser of the  "Support the Junior Tour" sportive, it was agreed that the CUYA selection day would be incorporated along with his event a week later than originally planned.

Numbers at the Ulster day suffered due to the severe weather and the anticipated 100 plus was around 70, made up with boys and girls from Under12, Under14 and Under16 age categories.

Read more
Filed under: Road, Women, Youth No Comments
Page 1 of 11312345...102030...Last »