Cycling Ulster

17/05/2015 Champion of Champions TT – Portaferry

chaSherry is the Toast of Champion of Champions TT
Martin Sherry’s (Emyvale) long journey paid off when he won today’s Champion of Champion’s 25 mile time trial on the classic Portaferry Road course. On a cold morning, with a rising westerly wind, Chris Boardman’s 49 minute course record was never in danger, but Martin’s time of 55:00 gave him a clear margin over Sean McIntyre (Orchard Wheelers) in second place with 55:48, and local man Paul Crossan (Killinchy CC) in third with 56:37.

There was a good turnout of women, with Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) fastest in a very impressive time of 59:22.… Read more


05/05/2015 Ulster 25m Team TT Championships Woodgreen

aGold for Cookstown and Phoenix at Team TT
Thirteen teams lined up in very blustery conditions to compete in the Ulster team Time Trial Championships. The weather all day had been very inclement with heavy downpours of rain which may have caused other teams to stay away as normally this event attracts over twenty teams. However the night remained dry but very windy and cold for the hardy competitors who lined up to race against the clock in the hope of winning an Ulster Championship medal.… Read more


26/04/2015 Ernie Magwood Super Six Round 1

Round 1 of the 2015 Hayes Fuels EMS6 league took place at Toome on the 26th April. Despite a later start to the season, we experienced 4 seasons in one day. Unfortunately they were, Autumn, winter, winter, and a tiny bit of spring. The riders gathered in decent sunshine, but as usual at Toome and its Lough effected mini climate, the strong winds made things very unpredictable. Generally conditions were slow with strong crosswinds which only assisted slightly on the shorter homeward leg, however the real problem was for the time keepers, who due to the sudden downpours, rain capes fitted over numbers, missed starts, along with the strong winds had a tough job identifying finishers despite 5 people on the line, with 2 separate timers, 2 spotters, and a photographer. Read more


25/04/2015 Orchard CC Keady Time Trial

Richardson King of Keady
Ian Richardson of the UCD team took th ehonours in the inaugural Leady Mountain Time Trial promoted by Orchard CC on Saturday when he recorded a time of 33:33.5 for the 14 miles.

Cian Delaney of Stamullan was second almos 30 seconds donw while Colm Quinn of Cuchulain CC was third. Lynsy Watson of Plush was hte first Ulster rider to appesar on the leader board recording a time of 36:15.2.

Wendy Ogilby-Black of the promoting club was the forst woman with Martina Hawkins of Dromara second followed by Sonia McIntyre of Orchard and Bernie Monaghan of Dromara CC.… Read more


13/09/2014 Ernie Magwood Super Six Rd 6

Fast Times at Woodgreen
The concluding round of the 2014 Ernie Magwood Super 6 took place at Woodgreen on the 13th September, the two riders who had a tilt at the Irish elite and Veterans 10 miles records a Rd 5, Marcus Christie and John Madden were once again back and raring to go. Conditions this time were much more favourable, the SW wind present at Rd5 replaced with a slight headwind on the return leg, but also high temperatures and good visibility making for good safe and fast conditions.… Read more


21/09/2014 Mixed Two-Up – Toome Course

aaPhoenix Take Honours in Two Up

The annual mixed two up time trial took place on Sunday in glorious sunshine. The event which had been cancelled last year was resurrected this year by the hard working Church Island Cycling club. Unfortunately due to the rescheduled Women's and Vets national Championship falling on the same weekend some of the regular contenders were missing.

Five teams took to the line on the Toome course and were timed off by Gordon Parker. Favourites were Eileen and Jason Burns of Ballymena CRC as Eileen has been putting in some super times in recent events.… Read more


14/09/2014 Ulster 100 m Time Trial Championship

aChristie and Madden Smash 100 Record

Sunday morning saw twenty eight hardy souls tun up at Woodgreen at eight o'clock in the morning to register for the gruelling 100 mile time trial championships promoted by Ballymoney CC.

The weather conditions were good with hazy sunshine and the wind was not too strong. All the top contenders for a record attempt were on the line-up. Bryan McCrystal of Aqua Blue smashed the senior record last year with an outstanding time of 3:34:52 while John Madden set a new Veteran's record 3:42:49.… Read more


31/08/2014 Ernie Magwood Super Six Rd 5 Woodgreen

The fifth round of the Ernie Magwood Super Six TT Series once again saw some fast times at Woodgreen but to the disappointment of sonme ot was not a day for record breaks.

There was a strong headwind which testers had to fight against. Marcus Christie of the An Post CRC team emerged as the winner with a time of 19.17 just over a minute faster than second placed rider John Madden of Dig Deep Inspired.

Aspiring contender Sean McIntyre of Orchard CC took third place with a time of 20.26.… Read more


27/08/2014 Ballymena 10 TT

Downey smashed Junior 10 TT record as Madden equals Vets 10 TT

On what can only be described as a blustery evening few would have expected the times recorded at the Ballymena Road Club Chain Reaction 10 mile TT on the A26 Woodgreen Course on Wednesday 27 August 2014. Marcus Christie, John Madden and Mark Downey arrived ready to take on the current records that stood for the 10 mile TT Irish Record. Subject to ratification the times posted showed that with the South East wind anything was possible.… Read more


24/08/2014 West Tyrone Time Trial Grand Prix

Martin Fastest at West Tyrone TT
Lurgan's Thomas Martin (Caldwell Cycles) took the win in the West Tyrone Time Trial Grand Prix in Omagh on Sunday 24th August. Despite missing the majority of the season through illness, Martin was the fastest over the 10 miles course on the Dromore Road with a time of 21 minutes 50 seconds. Omagh Wheelers duo Paul and Darragh McCarter also recorded sub 22 minute times to take second and third respectively. … Read more

Page 1 of 2712345...1020...Last »