Cycling Ulster

Lots of Enduro, Cross-country and Downhill going on and coming up

The off-road scene has been busy over the last couple of weeks with Round 2 of the Vitus First Tracks series taking place in Bigwood, Warrenpoint on 9/10 May and then the Ulster riders heading over to Wales to compete in the third round of the British XC series. This weekend the Emerald Enduro is taking place in Carrick County Wicklow. This is the second round of the Enduro World Series with a huge gathering of international riders and local riders competing across seven timed stages.… Read more


Lots of Winners at Emyvale GP

aThe hardworking crew at Emyvale CC had a busy day today when they promoted no less than seven races for all categories from early morning to late afternoon.

The marshalls had been busy putting signage out from early morning and even the sign-on location was well signposted.

The youth races for U12's, U14's and U 16's kicked off at 10.00 am. There was a big turnout for all categories. In the U 12 event it was a clean sweep for Ulster with Errigal's Odhran Doogan taking the win from Darren Rafferty of Island Wheelers. … Read more


Sun Comes Out For Groucho

aIt was another busy day for the hardworking team at Orchard Shelbourne CC when they promoted their Groucho GP this afternoon. This race, while run over an eight mile hilly course, has a sting in the tail when it turns in the final lap to take in the tough climb into Richhill to finish at Groucho's Bar.  Orchard are beginning to get a bit of a reputation for their unusual events with an A4 only criterium around the Mall in Armagh City on Wednesday night and a hilly time trial up Keady mountain last week.… Read more


Phoenix Make it 1, 2 at Armagh Crit

aIt was a good night for Phoenix riders at the Orchard Shelbourne CC promoted Armagh City Criterium this evening. The race was run over a 3km circuit starting at the East side of the Mall. There was a large field for this A4 only criterium and it was obvious that there was enthusiasm for this type of racing.

The riders were completing each lap in just under four minutes although this time grew less as the race neared conclusion. While there there were no real break aways a number of riders were noticed for their aggressive riding at the front of the bunch.… Read more

Filed under: Race Reports No Comments

Off-road – news and previews

It has been a busy couple of weeks for the Ulster off-road riders as they competed both in Ireland and across the water, in cross-country, enduro and downhill. Looking ahead over the next few weeks there are plenty of events to keep the riders occupied with more enduro, cross-country, downhill and even a cross-country marathon.… Read more


Packed Racing Programme at Mid Ulster GP

There was a full programme of racing today when Harps CC promoted their annual Mid Ulster GP. The day dawned bright and sunny but this was deceptive as it was bitterly cold with a biting wind and temperatures not rising above 6 degrees. This did not discourage the large number of Youth riders who turned up or the women and 50 Plus Masters who were also racing in the morning events.

In the afternoon there were two races on offer, namely a combined A1 to A3 race and a separate A4 race.

Read more

Snow to sunshine, wild deer to mountain biking, all fun at Colebrooke

Caldwell Cycles's usual venue of Ballykelly Forest was unavailable this year due to tree felling which left event organiser Clive Caldwell the task of finding another venue to host a cross-country mountain bike event. Thankfully Lord Alan Brookeborough of Colebrooke Estate in Brookeborough County Fermanagh was happy to accommodate another race on his estate using more or less the same course as Lakeland CC had back in January of this year. … Read more


Exciting Racing in Stage 3 Tour of the North

aThis afternoon's stage of the Tour of the North rolled out from the Ballymena Club Rooms to the start line at Whiteside's Road where the flag was dropped and the race was on. And Race On was exactly what happened as the riders never let up on the tough circuit.

The event covered four laps of a 9.5 mile circuit with a KoH at Lap 1 and Lap 3 before doing a longer loop prior to the fast run into the finish.

There were attempts to break from the bunch all day and riders such as Ronan McLaughlin (Team ASEA),  Paul McCarter (Omagh Wheelers) and Jack Waller of Spirit Bikes were particularly active early on.… Read more


Gareth McKee Takes First Yellow in Tour of the North

aAlmost 120 riders took to the roads around the North Antrim coast and Glens today as Stage 1 of this year's Tour of the North began. A light mizzle and some misty patches greeted the riders in the early part of the race but the strong headwinds were to be the undoing of those that were dropped.

Four King of the Hills and two early crashes saw the fragmentation of the field as riders struggled to get back on.

Dave Watson of North Down suffered some bad road rash as did Darragh Zaidan of the Belgian Project Team.… Read more


Tough conditions at the British NPS Round 1

The first round of the British NPS Cross-country series took place over the weekend at Sherwood Pines in Nottinghamshire. The aim of the Cycling Ulster MTB XC squad for 2015 is to compete at all five of the British rounds. Selected onto the squad were Matthew Adair (Xmtb McConvey Cycles), James Curry (Banbridge CC) and Sean Bradley (Carn Wheelers). Unfortunately Matthew was unable to attend due to last minute work issues. Jeff Ballantine and Simon Curry took the guys over on the Friday evening on the overnight boat to arrive on Saturday in time for practice.… Read more

Page 1 of 1012345...10...Last »