Cycling Ulster

Junior Tour of Ireland – starting list

The 2014 Junior Tour of Ireland starts today in Ennis County Clare and continues until the 20th of July. Cycling Ulster has a team of four riders entered (Ryan Reilly, Cathal Clarke, Ryan Orr and Darnell Moore) but there are other Ulster riders competing as part of other teams. We wish them all a safe and successful race. The tour is held over 6 stages with the first stage, a 6.2 km individual time trial, taking place this evening at 7 pm. … Read more


Sperrin MTB Sportive Sunday 27 July 2014.

The Sperrin MTB Sportive promoted by Harps CC will be held on Sunday 27th July 2014. The event gives riders the opportunity to ride both Slieve Gallion open mountain and the Davagh Forest Trails. As per last year, the riders start from Moneymore Recreation Centre before taking on either the 70 km RED route or the 60 km BLUE route. This is a mass start event but is not a race. Registration is now open on Entry Central. The event is open to riders aged 16 or over.… Read more


Ulster 10 Mile TT Championships Open for Entry – Pre Entry Only

The Ulster 10 mile Time Trial Championship will take place on Sunday 10th August 2014 on the A2 Toome course promoted by Church Island Cycling. Sign-on will be at Erin's Own GAA Clubrooms, Shore Road, Toomebridge from 8:30 until 9:30 witht he first rider off - 10:01am.

A Limited Competition licence is minimum required and must be presented at sign on. Testers starting times will be determined by the order of registration on Entry Central, with the exception that handcyclists will start first. Entry closes at midnight on 8th August.… Read more


Ulster Track Riders in International Action.

A quartet of Ulster Track Riders will be in action this weekend in the 2-Day UCI International Track meeting in Dublin. The riders are all `sprint` type riders, with two Under 23 riders taking part along with a top international field. Seasoned U23 rider David Neill (Team Madigan) will take part in the Sprint competition and the Under 23 10 km Scratch event, whilst 21 year-old Ballymoney CC newcomer Ronan Sherman will contest the Sprint and Keirin events. Ronan has already impressed this year, having contested the Duane Delaney event and national Omnium championships.… Read more


Newry 3 day – starting list

The start list for the Newry 3 day 2014 has been released. Newry wheelers is restricted to 80 riders for this event and have had to leave out over 50 riders to meet this restriction. We are sorry to let so many riders down but it is out of the club's control. If you cannot make the race please let Drew McKinley know as soon as possible (email).
Do not take it for granted another club member can swap it will have to be confirmed with the host club.… Read more


A3/Junior RR Champs and Vets/Jun TT Champs Info

The Junior and Vet National Time Trial Championship will take place on Saturday the 16th August promoted by Osborne Edge Sports Club. The event will take place in Blarney, Co. Cork. The Entry Fee for this event will be 25 Euro.

It is a 40km out and back route. Sign-on will begin at 10.15am with an expected start time of 1.00pm for the first rider.

On Sunday 17th the club will promote the A3 and Junior National Road Race Championships and again the entry Fee is 25 Euro

The Junior Race will be 106km which is ten Laps of a Circuit.… Read more


Duncan Takes the John Mulligan Memorial

aThe inaugural John Mulligan Memorial race took place on Sunday the 6th July promoted by Caldwell Cycles of Omagh.

There were two races on the day. The main race kicked off with the A3’s getting a two minute handicap over the A1/A2’s .

The race came together before they had finished the first lap of the 22 mile course. As they crossed the line going into the second lap there was a group of ten riders with a minute advantage over the main field. There was a lot of activity on this lap where Fraser Duncan(Northern Dave Kane) and Connor Murphy (Caldwell Cycles)making it across to the break where Murphy joined his team mate Paul Mulliganof the promoting club.… Read more


Weekend Events Updated

Tir Chonaill Gap MTB Leisure Event - Saturday 12th July
Tir Chonaill Gap Cycling Club, is pleased to announce that on 12th July we will be holding a mountain bike event (The Rescheduled Mad March Hare)

With some of our members working tirelessly on adding to and improving the course it is sure to be an unreal event!..... The start of the event once again will create a bit of a stir as the participants have to ride down the steps beside the Garda station in Glenties. Read more


Ulster Youth Championships – 26 July 2014

The Ulster Youth Cycling Championships will be promoted this year on Saturday 26 July in Craigavon by Clann Eireann Cycling Club. The club is grateful to our club team sponsors, KD Gas Services/Ideal, as well as the David McCall Foundation, Classic Mineral Water Company and Chain Reaction Cycles for generous support. The championships will consist of time trials and road races for Under 12’s, Under 14's and Under 16's. … Read more


Tommy Givan “50″ and Ulster 50 tt Champs

On Sunday 6 July 2014 Maryland Wheelers organised the annual Tommy Givan Memorial 50 mile time trial event on the Woodgreen circuit. This event doubled up as the Ulster 50 mile TT championships. The day was pleasant enough, sunny with light winds, not ideal for time trialling with most riders claiming that this year's conditions were slower than before. The fastest rider on the day was Colm Cassidy (UCD) in a time of 1 hour 42 minutes and 26 seconds which was quite a bit off the 1:40:10 set by Marcus Christie last year.… Read more

Page 5 of 590« First...34567...102030...Last »