Cycling Ulster

Two Reliability Trials This Sunday

Sunday 20th February
This weekend cyclists have a choice of reliability trials with both Emyvale and Maryland Wheelers organising events.
The Emyvale/McQuaid Tyres Trial starts in Emyvale at 12 o'clock with sign on beginning at 11.00 am. Everyone is welcome to what should be an enjoyable run. Emyvale are also holdng their annual dinner on Friday 18th in the Westerna Holtel in Monaghan. Tickets are €25 and can be obtsined from Michael Mc Kenna on 047 87183.

The Maryland Wheelers Reliability Trial will be held on Sunday 20th February 2005.… Read more


Entries Closing For FBD Insurance Ras

After 15th February only teams that have returned a completed Team Application Form(and fee of €250) can be sure of a team place in thisyear's FBD Insurance RÁS.

Due to an unprecedented interest in this year's race by US teams it is quite possible the total entry will reach the maximum number of 200 riders. The race organisation is obliged to let the US teams know, as soon as possible, whether their entry can be accepted to allow flights be booked.

Over the coming days these teams will be given the go-ahead to plan the trip to Ireland.… Read more


Second Round Of Spring League

The second round of XMTB's Spring League takes place this Sunday at Dondonald Ice Bowl. It was kicked off to a fantastic start with sponsors Phoenix Natural Gas and Bikeworks Sales and Services of Bangor coming on board.
There were over 25 beginners at the “Bike Skills” with John Bann- Lavery, Cycling Ulster Youth Development Officer, showing the FUNdamentals on the bike followed by a Beginner Youths race.

The Beginner Youths race gave the kids an opportunity to compete at an introductory level suited to their ability and experience.… Read more


Bravehearts at Dromara CC Trailquest

Early Sunday morning brought some of the harshest weather seen this winter.
Not surprising then that only the dedicated turned out for this MTB orienteering event on the snow covered Dromara hills.
Twenty-three in total made up 11 teams starting out from Dromara football club with the aim of visiting as many of the 19 varying value controls as possible in 3 hours. The toughest of which was at the top of Slieve Croob at 1760ft in what must have been storm force winds.

Winners were team Happy, Willie Mulligan, Paul Anderson and Paul Byrne from Banbridge CC putting their cross country skills to good use on the open mountain and gaining an excellent 300 points out of a possible 350.… Read more


Phoenix and Maryland Throw Down The Gauntlet

Are you a fount of information or do you just enjoy a bit of ’craic’? Whatever the case may be, why not come along to the pub quiz organised by Phoenix CC on Friday 18 February, at the National Badminton Centre, Lisburn, starting at 8:00. The quiz will focus on general knowledge, current affairs, music and sport with a few cycling questions thrown in for good measure. Come along and test the intellectual superiority of Phoenix and Maryland teams! All is fair in cycling circles so why not try to psyche out these teams – perhaps it will pay dividends come the racing season.… Read more


Cormac McCann Wins NI International Coach Award

Last night, coaches from around the country attended a Gala Evening in Belfast City Hall. The event, hosted by UTV's Graham Little, paid tribute to the service that coaches make to the development of Sport in Northern Ireland. Cormac McCann, Phoenix CC, was awarded top International coach for the work he has done in raising the level of cycling in Northern Ireland. Cormac has acted as a personal coach for brother David McCann (Team Giant Asia) for a number of years. David's successes in 2004 such as winning the prestigious Ras and in achieving top placings in many international events is testimony to Cormac's success as a coach.… Read more


Trailquest or Mountain Bike Orienteering

Dromara Cycling Club.

This Sunday 13th February, we shall be holding our second Trailquest/Orienteering event.
The route takes in road, mountain side paths, forest trails and bridleways.
Start is at 10am from Dromara Football Club, Rathfriland Road Dromara.

You will have 3 hours to visit as many controls as possible, on supplied maps and answer the corresponding questions on your clue sheet.
The controls have different values depending on the degree of difficulty in reaching them.

Teams can be made up of 1-3, all team members must stay in voice contact at all times.… Read more


East Antrim CC Reliability Trial


Audi/East Antrim CC’s Reliability Trial kicks off this Sunday at 10.00 am from Carrick Castle car park, Carrickfergus. Sign on is from 9.00 am and there will be a choice of two routes.

70 Miles/110km
Carrick, Ballyrobert, Templepatrick, Antrim, Ballymena, Broughshane, Carnlough, Glenarm (tea stop) Larne, Whitehead, Carrick.

50 Miles/80km
Carrick, Ballyrobert, Ballyclare, Ballyyeaston, Kilwaugther, Ballygalley, Glenarm (tea stop) Larne, Carrick.

For additional information contact Gary Wilson 07803 162070.

Read more

Home Shots From Abroad

Hi from Malaysia,
My name is Raymond Tinsley and I am currently on holiday in Malaysia, visiting relatives. I ride for West Down Wheelers in Banbridge, and know Roger Aiken well.

I managed to grab a few shots of the Irish lads on the way up the Genting Highlands stage yesterday and at the start of the penultimate stage today from the Kuala Lumpur Telecom tower to PutraJaya.

I have sent these on as I thought people at home might like to see them.
There is also a shot of the presentation of the jerseys at the start of today's stage.… Read more


XMTB Spring League at Dundonald Ice Bowl – This Sunday

Cycling Ireland Cycling Club of the Year for 2004, XMTB, will get the 2005 season underway with its annual Spring League in February and March, with cycling for all ages from Youths through to Seniors.

This year, there will be an addition to the programme with "Bike Skills" and a short race taking place for Beginner Youths, before the racing kicks off for the established Youth riders and Seniors.

The league was previously run in Bangor's Castle Park by Eric Blayney (TND), who did a great job each year in generating enthusiasm for cycling in the early months.… Read more

Page 508 of 587« First...102030...506507508509510...520530540...Last »